SAMA (82)

About The South Atlantic Medal Association (82)

The South Atlantic Medal (1982) is the official name of the medal awarded to almost 30,000 service men and women – and civilians – who took part in the campaign to liberate the Falkland Islands in 1982.

Royal Patron

HRH The Prince of Wales KG, KT, GCB, OM, AK, QSO, PC, ADC

National President

Commodore Jamie Miller CBE

Honorary Vice Presidents

Denzil Connick – Co Founder
Capt Martin Reed RD
Lt. Colonel Tony Davies MBE, OBE
John Phillips DSC
Maj. Gen Malcolm Hunt OBE
Col Mike Bowles MBE
Ann Townsend
Maj Gen Julian Thompson CB OBE RN (Retd)
John “Joe” Erskine
Kevin Greathurst
Dr Morgan O’Connell
Lt Gen Sir James Dutton KCB OBE
Jane Adams
Steve Adams

Board of Trustees

Tom Herring (Chairman)
Derek “Smokey” Cole (Vice Chairman)
Andrew Lockett (Treasurer)
Paul Holling
Tom Herring
Chris Jones
Chris Howe
Joe Locke
Tim Lewis
Stephen Penfold

Ex Officio Member 

Mr Richard Hyslop  – The Falkland Islands Government UK Representative

SAMA (82) Office

Association Secretary: Joanne Stevens
Office Administrator: Marie Hurcum

Email addresses:
General –
Falklands Concessionary Flights –
Cenotaph –
NFA Events –

Concessionary Flight Scheme

Sponsor: Tom Herring

National Standard Bearer

Steve ‘Danny’ Kay.  Also other Regional Volunteers


Chaplain: Rev David Cooper 


Editor: SAMA 82 Office ( J Stevens & M Hurcum)

SAMA (82) Website


Steve Cocks
Forums Screen Name – Steve Cocks

Website Administrators

Joanne Stevens, Marie Hurcum and Paul Holling